Testing out some night photography too…

Did you know that not all views of the Milky Way are the same?  Because it’s a huge band around the galaxy, you’d think it looks the same from everywhere.  But really, -30 in the Southern Hemisphere gives the most intense view because the “center” is constellation Sagittarius. This is the same reason they will build the Square Kilometer Array in South Africa or Australia near -30 latitude. 

This photo below is a few degrees below that down here in New Zealand, and the greenish curtains along the bottom was an ion storm during the aurora.

On my little road trip I’m gonna leave my tent for a bit star photography as well to test out the A7r for star shots. This one you see I got with the 14-24mm f/2.8 on the Nikon, but I think I should be able to get a comparable shot on the A7r, if not better.  I’ll try out a few different lenses and see how it turns out!

http://click-to-read-mo.re/p/4DFu

